​Being a man by Lungile Peter Chidothe

 

Every time he comes home everyone 

is afraid

Me and my younger brother we ran and hide underneath our beds

And the youngest one in my mum’s arms just cries

And her my mum, her beautiful face fades into something strange

Hell yeah, dad is home
So tell me dad

Is this respect or fear

Every time you call mum a whore is that being a man? 

Every time you call your sons bastards is that being a man? 

And every time you shave freely in the morning as if nothing happened yesterday, is that being a man? 
Because sooner or later I am gonna have a woman of my own, I will call a wife
Because sooner or later I am gonna have kids of my own which will carry my name
Should I have to beat my wife, call her a whore

Should I have to call my sons bastards

To be a man? 
Dad the future is near so I wanna learn from you

Things I have to do to be a man!

Leave a Reply

